Font size increaseFont size decrease

The 3rd International Rain Enhancement Forum, 14-17 January 2019

‘United For Water Security’

Leading international and national experts, researchers, scientists and stakeholders will be meeting once more in Abu Dhabi to tackle key pressing sustainability issues during the 3rd International Rain Enhancement Forum (IREF), organized by the UAE Research Program for Rain Enhancement Science (UAEREP).

Taking place on 14-17 January, during the Abu Dhabi Sustainability Week (ADSW), and hosted by the UAE Research Program for Rain Enhancement Science and under the supervision of the UAE’s National Center of Meteorology (NCM); the 2019 edition of this annual event aims to highlight the latest scientific and technological advances with a view to finding new water security solutions through rain enhancement.

IREF Strategic Objectives

An annual four-day event that brings together local and international experts to discuss further cooperation on finding innovative technologies that can secure and sustain freshwater across the globe, the Forum aims to outline the UAE Water Security Strategy and the UAE Science Strategy, positioning the country as a global hub in rain enhancement and promoting its key role in transferring knowledge.

As a regular annual event, the Forum is structured to aid productive discussion between our awardees and the many leading scientists in attendance on the broadest possible range of topics related to rain enhancement science.

Promoting collaborative research on rain enhancement science and technology globally, the Forum will give an overview of the UAE Research Program for Rain Enhancement Science’s role in capacity-building globally, while highlighting the role of Youth and Women in the UAEREP, and its collaborative work with international universities and research institutes.

Over its four days, the Forum will highlight the advances made in modeling (Numerical Weather Prediction) and implementation of Nano Technology to develop novel materials. It will also be an opportunity for the panelists to discuss their innovative solutions to water scarcity challenges and the progress in optimizing the utilization of water as a sustainable resource.

IREF Pillars and Structure

IREF’s sessions will showcase the progress and achievements of the UAE Research Program for Rain Enhancement Science’s nine awarded projects, led by distinguished multinational awardees over the past three years. A special highlight of this exciting event will be the unveiling of the results of the completed work of the Program’s three First Cycle awardees: these cover work in engineering unique nanostructured properties of cloud seeding materials; the development of innovative algorithms using various types of remote sensors to find and track the clouds most suitable for seeding based on laboratory experiments and field data; and enhanced modeling and observational capabilities with a focus on atmospheric ‘convergence zones’ and possible linkages between land surface features and rainfall occurrence.

There will also be a focus on the potential applications of the awardees’ research to a range of planned projects in the years to come, including an imaginative new plan to integrate their findings into an advanced model entitled “Integrating Schemes from UAEREP projects into a unified multi-component atmospheric model”. Aimed at improving cloud seeding methods through leveraging the research findings of awardee projects, the collaborative scientific venture will increase the accuracy of weather forecasts related to clouds amenable to seeding operations in the UAE.

The forum will also cover a new project study, entitled “Nano-technology Seeding Material Evaluation”, designed to test new cloud seeding material in order to prove its efficacy and potential for broader use under a range of climatic conditions.

Conducted over four stages, the project will practically demonstrate the ability of nano-tech material to nucleate droplets in fog through flight tests, carry out laboratory studies including cloud chamber experiments to support results obtained from the field studies, employ a range of models to validate the initial experiments, and conduct further airborne tests to provide additional real-world evidence for the results. In addition, the research will support the UAEREP’s broader strategic aim of building local capacity through workshop and lecture-based training for NCM staff and students interested in rain enhancement and the use of nanomaterial specifically.

Other forum panel sessions will cover solutions to global water resource challenges, youth participation in water conservation and management, and the role of women in water sciences. There will also be a special discussion on Artificial Intelligence (AI), a fast-growing area that offers immense potential for improved weather forecasting, the management of precipitation events, and measures to anticipate and mitigate extreme weather events such as heat waves or storms.

The 3rd IREF Agenda highlight’s

In addition to announcing the UAEREP’s 1st cycles’ projects results, and updates on the 2nd and 3rd cycles’ projects, the forum will also discuss latest rain enhancement technologies, solutions to global water resource challenges, youth participation in water conservation and management, the role of women in water sciences, and the advanced science of AI and its meteorology applications.

IREF 2019 Agenda Download

Join us at the 3rd International Rain Enhancement Forum (IREF)

Date: 14 – 17 January, 2019 
Location: Capital Suite 5, ADNEC, Abu Dhabi, UAE 

To confirm your attendance, click here

For further information please write to us on: uaerep@ncms.ae

Font size increaseFont size decrease

الملتقى الدولي الثالث للاستمطار ، 14-17 يناير 2019

"معاً من أجل تحقيق أمن المياه"

تجتمع نخبة من الخبراء والباحثين والعلماء وذوي العلاقة المحليين والدوليين مرة أخرى في أبوظبي عاصمة دولة الإمارات من أجل مناقشة ومعالجة القضايا الرئيسية الأكثر إلحاحاً في مجال الاستدامة، وذلك خلال الملتقى الدولي الثالث للاستمطار، الذي ينظمه برنامج الإمارات لبحوث علوم الاستمطار.

يستضيف الملتقى الذي ينظم، تحت إشراف المركز الوطني للأرصاد في دولة الإمارات على هامش فعاليات أسبوع أبوظبي للاستدامة في الفترة من 14-17 يناير 2019. ويهدف إلى تسليط الضوء على أحدث التطورات العلمية والتكنولوجية الساعية إلى إيجاد حلول جديدة تكفل تحقيق الأمن المائي باستخدام علوم الاستمطار. 

 

الأهداف الاستراتيجية للملتقى الدولي للاستمطار

يجمع هذا الحدث السنوي، الذي ينظم على مدى أربعة أيام، نخبة من الخبراء المحليين والدوليين من أجل مناقشة سبل التعاون بغية إيجاد تقنيات مبتكرة يمكنها تحقيق أمن واستدامة المياه العذبة حول العالم، ويهدف الملتقى إلى تحديد استراتيجيات أمن المياه والعلوم المتقدمة في دولة الإمارات، إضافة إلى ترسيخ مكانة الدولة كمركز عالمي لعلوم الاستمطار، وتعزيز دورها في نقل المعرفة.

لقد تم تنظيم الملتقى الدولي الاستمطار، الفعالية السنوية الدورية، بغية دفع عجلة الحوار المثمر بين الحاصلين على منحة البرنامج من جهة ونخبة من العلماء البارزين الحاضرين من جهة أخرى، ومناقشة أكثر المواضيع إلحاحاً في مجال علوم الاستمطار.

ومن خلال تعزيز التعاون البحثي حول علوم وتكنولوجيا الاستمطار على الصعيد العالمي، يقدم البرنامج نظرة عامة حول الدور الذي يلعبه برنامج الإمارات لبحوث علوم الاستمطار في بناء القدرات على مستوى العالم، وإبراز دور الشباب والمرأة في برنامج الإمارات لبحوث علوم الاستمطار، والتعاون مع الجامعات والمؤسسات الأكاديمية ومعاهد البحوث الدولية.

ويسلط الملتقى خلال أيامه الأربعة الضوء على التقدم المحرز في أنظمة النمذجة العددية للتنبؤ العددي بالطقس وتطبيق تكنولوجيا النانو من أجل تطوير مواد جديدة لتلقيح السحب. كما يوفر الفرصة لمتحدثي حلقات النقاش لتبادل الآراء حول نجاعة الحلول المبتكرة المقترحة من أجل التصدي لتحديات شح المياه وإحراز تقدم في مجال الاستفادة المثلى من المياه كمورد مستدام.

 

هيكلية وركائز الملتقى الدولي للاستمطار

تستعرض جلسات الملتقى الدولي للاستمطار أحدث التطورات والإنجازات التي حققتها المشاريع التسعة الحاصلة على منحة برنامج الإمارات لبحوث علوم الاستمطار، والتي أشرفت عليها نخبة من الفرق المتميزة ومتعددة الجنسيات على مدى السنوات الثلاث الماضية. ومن أبرز فعاليات النسخة الثالثة للملتقى: الإعلان عن نتائج الأعمال الكاملة للباحثين الثلاثة الحاصلين على منحة الدورة الأولى من البرنامج: وتتضمن هندسة الخصائص النانومترية الفريدة لمواد تلقيح السحب، وتطوير الخوارزميات المبتكرة باستخدام أنواع مختلفة من أجهزة الاستشعار عن بعد، للبحث عن السُحب الأكثر ملاءمة للتلقيح ورصدها استناداً إلى النتائج المخبرية والبيانات الميدانية، وتعزيز النمذجة وقدرات الرصد مع التركيز على مناطق التقارب في الغلاف الجوي، والروابط المحتملة بين خصائص سطح الأرض وهطول الأمطار.

سيتم كذلك التركيز على التطبيقات المحتملة للمشاريع الحاصلة على منحة البرنامج ضمن مجموعة من المشاريع المزمع تنفيذها في غضون السنوات المقبلة. ويشمل ذلك خطة جديدة ومبتكرة لدمج النتائج النمذجة العددية التي تم التوصل إليها في نموذج متقدم بعنوان "المحاكاة العددية المتكاملة لأبحاث برنامج الإمارات لبحوث علوم الاستمطار". والذي يهدف إلى تطوير نموذج موحد يدمج برامج المحاكاة العددية المتنوعة للمشاريع البحثية الحاصلة على منحة البرنامج في دوراته الثلاث الأولى.

يعرض الملتقى كذلك دراسة مشروع جديد بعنوان "تقييم المواد المستخدمة في تلقيح السحب باستخدام تكنولوجيا النانو" والذي يهدف إلى اختبار مادة جديدة لتلقيح السحب من أجل إثبات فعاليتها وإمكانية استخدامها على نطاق أوسع في ظل مجموعة مختلفة من الظروف المناخية.

يهدف هذا المشروع إلى اثبات قدرة مواد تلقيح السحب المعالجة بتقنية النانو ضمن مشروع البروفيسورة ليندا زو الحاصلة على منحة البرنامج بدورتها الأولى؛ على تشكيل قطيرات النواة المكونة للضباب وتوضيح النمو الانتشاري تحت الظروف المناسبة، تنفيذ مجموعة من التجارب المخبرية الهادفة إلى التأكد من دقة نتائج التجارب الميدانية، وتطوير نماذج عددية استناداً إلى المرحلتين الأوليين، واختبار النماذج النهائية على أرض الواقع عبر حملات جوية لأثبات قدرة المواد المبتكرة على تحسين عمليات الاستمطار حول العالم. ويهدف البرنامج إلى المساعدة في بناء القدرات المحلية من خلال الحلقات النقاشية والمحاضرات والتدريب خلال فترة تنفيذ المشروع.

وتناقش جلسات الملتقى الحلول المتعلقة بتحديات الموارد المائية العالمية، ومشاركة الشباب في الحفاظ على المياه وإدارتها، ومساهمة المرأة في علوم المياه. كما ستقام جلسات نقاشية خاصة حول الذكاء الاصطناعي، الذي يشهد تطورات سريعة توفر إمكانات هائلة لتحسين التنبؤات الجوية وإدارة هطول الأمطار، والتدابير اللازمة للتنبؤ بأحداث الطقس الاستثنائية والتخفيف من تأثيراتها، مثل موجات ارتفاع الحرارة والعواصف.

 

نبذة عن جدول أعمال الملتقى الدولي للاستمطار – النسخة الثالثة 2019

يستعرض الملتقى إلى جانب نتائج مشاريع أبحاث الدورة الأولى وآخر تطورات مشاريع الدورتين الثانية والثالثة، تضم أجندة الملتقى الذي ستنظم فعاليته على هامش أسبوع أبوظبي للاستدامة؛ قائمة مميزة من الجلسات الحوارية التي تناقش الحلول المبتكرة لتحديات الموارد المائية العالمية، وآليات إشراك الشباب في الحفاظ على المياه وإدارتها، ومساهمة المرأة في علوم المياه، فضلاً عن التعريف بعلوم الذكاء الاصطناعي المرتبطة بالتنبؤات الجوية وإدارة هطول الأمطار.
 

رابط جدول أعمال الملتقى الدولي للاستمطار 2019 للتنزيل

 

انضموا إلينا في الملتقى الدولي الثالث للاستمطار

التاريخ: 14-17 يناير 2019

المكان: كابيتال سويت 5, أدنيك, أبوظبي, الإمارات العربية المتحدة

للتسجيل، يرجى الضغط هنا

لمزيد من المعلومات يرجى التواصل معنا على info@uaerep.ae